The 365-Day-Long Valentine’s Card.

Whilst reading God’s Word this morning ( no… I’m not holier-than-thou – I just need it to  survive! lol ) it occurred to me that because of what Jesus did in regards to the cross, God sends me a ‘Valentine card’ every day of my life!

Let me explain.

You know that well-known Bible verse: John 3:16? The one that goes…

‘For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him, should not perish but have everlasting life.’?

Well in this morning’s reading I found this…

‘…we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.’ ( 1 John 4:16 )

Whoever lives in love lives in God!!

Did I read that right??

I wondered… what else does the Bible have to say about God’s love? I did a search and guess what? I got 686 hits! 686 HITS!! Which of course that includes this: Paul’s famous treatise on love that begins in 1 Corinthians 13:1 and in verse 13 ends with these sobering words:

‘And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.’

The greatest of these is Love!

Imagine! But the icing on the cake was a realisation that came to me when I read Psalm 103.

‘But from everlasting to everlasting the Lord’s love is with those who fear him…’

Did you get that? No? Read it again.

‘But from everlasting to everlasting the Lord’s love is with those who fear him…’

Now do you see?

Let me ask you this: when does ‘everlasting’ begin? Where does it come from? Where does it go to? Don’t we usually assume that the word refers to sometime in the future? And yet it has to have a beginning. Or maybe not. Maybe it just is!

Which means that it was present in the past, is in the here and now, and will certainly be there in your future! It is a love that has filled all 86400 seconds of your every day to this moment! And will do, right on into eternity!

And that’s why, dear friends, it’s just like God sends me, and you, a Valentine, every day!

xx

Leave a Reply

