To Have A True Friend…

“…there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”  Proverbs 18:24

This morning I wept and bitterly so. As tears streamed down my face; as I knelt at the foot of the bed, I prayed; and I talked to my best friend in the whole world.

And the next.

Someone who cares for me; who loves me deeply. Someone who knows me; Who understands me completely. Who gives to me comfort, from the fact of just knowing him. And who accepts me.

Just as I am.

When my days are like today: dark, tiring, confused. When I stumble blindly through each hour. When failure constantly stares me in the face and I feel completely lost. When that familiar, deep, mournful sorrow overwhelms me.

He is there.

And I am so glad.

So, so glad.

I have a friend that sticks closer than a brother.

Jesus.

Leave a Reply

